Concordia Chamber Players

Brilliant Performers, Intriguing Programming

Chamber Music |
Concordia Chamber Players

Michelle Djokic, Artistic Director

Alexi Kenney, Violin
Michelle Djokic, Cello
Michael Brown, Piano

Friday June 7 at 7:30 pm

Ticket Sales Begin in Early March

Miller Chapel, Princeton Theological Seminary
64 Mercer Street, Princeton

Tickets: $45 Preferred | $35 General | $15 Students

General Admission Seating by section

Approximate end time: 9:30 pm


Ludwig van Beethoven
Seven Variations on ‘Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen’ Wo0 46
Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
Duo for violin and cello Op.7




Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Piano trio in C minor No. 2. Op. 66

This performance is underwritten by J.P. Morgan.


Contrasting Duos and a powerful trio

The brightest talents of the chamber music world come together to perform as members of the Concordia Chamber Players. Individually they enjoy active careers as soloists and chamber musicians at major chamber music festivals such as Tanglewood, Marlboro, and the Lincoln Center Festival. They have also performed with orchestras such as the New York Philharmonic, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and the San Francisco Symphony.

Concordia performs to acclaim throughout our region, and has presented a concert as part of The Princeton Festival since our very first year. For its 15th program at the Festival Artistic Director Michelle Djokic has selected a charming set of variations for cello and piano by Beethoven, Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály’s duo for the uncommon but beautiful combination of violin and cello, and Felix Mendelssohn’s impassioned piano Op. 66.

Beethoven’s duo is based on an aria from Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (The Magic Flute), and is a relatively early work (1801). The original aria is sung by Pamina and Papageno in praise of the love between husband and wife. In Beethoven’s hands the duo, led by the piano, brings out the sweetness of that sentiment from several different viewpoints.

Kodály’s duo was composed in 1914, but not performed until 1924. It has become a landmark in the small repertoire for violin and cello duo, along with Ravel’s sonata of 1920-22. Folkloric elements give the first movement a rhapsodic feeling, while the second movement is a passionate Adagio. The work closes with a wonderful, sparkling Presto.

In closing, the Concordia players offer Felix Mendelssohn’s fiery and moving Op. 66 trio, whose first movement has a tension and forward movement that is somewhat uncharacteristic of this composer. There are glorious themes throughout, in a composition that looks back to the Mendelssohn of Midsummer Night’s Dream and forward to the architectural power of Brahms. It’s quite an experience.

Listen to this excerpt from Aaron Copland’s Rodeo


and enjoy this excerpt of Erich Korngold’s Suite Opus 23 for Left Hand Piano, 2 violins and cello (Rondo-Finale). You’ll discover why Concordia Chamber Players has been a staple of The Princeton Festival since its inception, returning year after year as an audience favorite!